Allow the ability to delete branches
I'd like the ability to delete branches. If the changes have been merged into another branches, keep them. Otherwise produce a STRONG warning that changes will be lost forever.
(1) Lots of branches on the server. When I sync some locally, I'd like to clean them up to remain organized.
(2) Abandoned branches and code that we no longer want. We'd like to prune them to keep our repo organized and focused.
I fully understand that "deleting branches is not recommended".. however, that is a recommendation, not a rule. I should be able to accept the responsibility of deleting branches within the practices of my organization, even if Plastic SCM (the company) does not agree.
You can delete branches, if you delete all changesets inside it first.
Since destroying history is very dangerous, we think it must be a really special operation. We checked with many customers and actually deleting info this way is dangerous. If you delete all csets first, the it is clear you are doing exactly what you want.
Lloyd T. commented
1) I really don't need plastic to try and protect me from myself. It's incredibly frustrating.
2) For unmerged branches, deleting all the changesets is timeconsuming (AND your cloud offering doesn't even support it). For merged branches, I just want the branch label to go away. The changesets can remain.