Add an option to hide merge info in the diff viewer
I remember that a couple of years ago you added a new feature to the diff viewer which let's you trace merges made on files. Let's consider the following scenario. You work in a branch for some time, but at some point you want to update your code to it's latest state, because your task already takes days or weeks. So you create a new branch from the latest changeset on \main and merge your existing branch you the newly created one.
Then you modify a file in the new branch, that was already modified earlier in the first branch. When you open the diff viewer on the new branch, you will see that the file is displayed twice on the list. This makes it hard for the code reviewer to guess which changes were actually made on the file.
Our workaround is to create a third branch from \main and merge the second branch to it and only then create a code review for that new branch. But this is kind of stupid, isn't it?
My suggestion is that you add an option in the diff viewer to not display merge info, in order to display each file only once, with its 'total' changes.
Windows GUI, gtk and mac clients: As requested in user voice https://plasticscm.uservoice.com/forums/15467-general/suggestions/17296492-add-an-option-to-hide-merge-info-in-the-diff-viewe, we implemented a toggle button that allows to “skip merge tracking” in the diff view. The button is only visible when several merge sources have been detected. When you click the button, diffs are not groupes by merge.